What We Do as An Association

The Hilltop Neighborhood Association is a non-profit, volunteer neighborhood association made up of residents within the area bounded by Colorado Blvd on the West, Alameda on the South, Holly Street on the East and 8th Avenue on the North. The mission of the association is to preserve, protect, and enhance the quality of life and existing character of the Hilltop neighborhood.  The major areas of activity within the association are: Zoning and Redevelopment, Traffic, Crime & Safety, Schools and Parks and Community Activities.

We are not a Home Owners Association (HOA) governed by CC&R’s.  We are a Registered Neighborhood Organization (RNO) with the city of Denver.  The Association’s business is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors who are elected to serve three year terms.  The term for approximately 1/3 of the Directors shall expire each year at the date of the annual membership meeting.  At that meeting, the slate of incoming Directors is elected by a majority vote of the members.  All Directors are members in good standing, of the Association.  The Board of Directors may consist of a maximum of thirty (30) members, and constitute the body charged with the day-to-day operations of the Association.  View the Association Bylaws here

The Association’s Board of Directors meets every other month on the 2nd Tuesday of the month to conduct business and these meetings are ALL open to the public.  We have a Public Comment period at each meeting to encourage neighbors to share their ideas, comments and concerns.  Contact us to sign up.  

Our Annual Membership Meeting and Board of Director Election is held in the fall.  Please check our events schedule to find whether there is Zoom access information or location of each meeting as this does change. We have several committees who would welcome your participation – many hands make light work and it is great to meet neighbors – GET INVOLVED.

To contact the Hilltop Neighborhood Association, please send an email to [email protected] or write us at HNA, PO Box 201142, Denver, CO 80220.  We want to hear from you!

Link here to upcoming Board of Director Meetings and other Events

Link here to Get to Know Your Hilltop Neighborhood Association Board

2023-2024 Officers

Steven Paletz, President
Kelly Armento, Vice-President
Lon Breslow, Treasurer
Carol Kleiner, Secretary
Mike Hughes, Past President

Directors through 2023
Randy Burgess
Larry Donovan
Josie Ostrander
Steve Segal
Ann Spoor
Andy Walvoord

Directors through 2024
Kelly Armento
Melissa Thomas
Andrea Dikeou
Mike Hughes
Graham Kaltenbach
Carol Kleiner
Mary Morissette
Steven Paletz
Joe Reece
Clay Sparks

Directors through 2025
Richard Ayres
Sandi Berenbaum
Bill Bonebrake
Lon Breslow
Marisa Echaniz
Tom Hart
Ann Hofmeister

View meeting minutes here: